PHL | Introduction to Filipino delicacy balot

In one of my business trips, I was luckily able to fly back to the Philippines for a project. Here I met my Japanese project manager, who me and a fellow Filipino introduced to a unique Filipino delicacy to.. Balot!

Its basically a developed egg, and is more disgusting to look at the more days it has developed.  The ones we bought were around 18 days, so it doesn’t look like a fully developed chick yet, but you can see here the development of it with the veins/muscles sticking out.

To eat it you first crack it open and drink the soup, and after you eat the embryo.. I was impressed our client did it with no hesitation..

Leave a Reply

