Snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef

This Easter holiday, me and some friends went to Cairns, Queensland home of the famous Great Barrier Reef! I was so excited to put to use my underwater camera… I had high expectations to the variety of fishes/corals I will get to see.

There are a lot of options for snorkel and dive providers.. Based on the reviews we read, we decided to go with  Wavelength Charters.  They are a bit pricey, but what’s nice about this provider is that they are exclusively just for snorkeling.  Plus they only accept a smaller capacity of people so it doesn’t get too crowded.   We were taken to 3 different sites and spent almost the whole day snorkeling..

These are some of the shots I got.. I actually had to edit it to enhance the colors, when you go underwater a lot of the colors tend to be in shades of blue or green.  So those photos you see in postcards, to get those kinds of shots you would need big lights attached to the camera to get colors that vibrant.. But still I’m pretty happy with how my pictures turned out..

The underwater creatures…

And the beautiful corals..

If given a chance, I would love to go back for a diving trip.. if I can get these views from just a snorkeling trip, what more as I go deeper underwater…

Leave a Reply

