Travel to Jeju Island (West Coast)

For the next 3 days in Korea, I was off to explore on my own. I didn’t know when I’d have the chance to go back to Korea again, so I wanted to make sure a visit to Jeju Island was part of my itinerary.

I don’t know much about this place, only that its always referenced in Korean series as a good vacation spot by locals. As I researched on Jeju Island, I got excited at the natural wonders to be seen there.

Since I’m travelling on my own and don’t speak Korean, I looked for tour groups that I could join so I won’t have to worry about transportation anymore. It’s hard because most tour providers have a minimum number of people required.

Luckily I found Yeha tours.. They offer affordable day tours both in the east and west coast, and you can also take it as a package with discounted accommodations at their guesthouse. Sadly the guesthouse was full already so I couldn’t take advantage of it.. So I just booked my own flights and accommodation, and booked 1 day for the east part of the island and another day for the west. There are specific accommodations that the tour provides pickups and drop offs to, so I based my accommodations on that list.. No more worries on transportation!

First day of the tour was the West course of the Island. Here are some of my personal highlights from the tour:

stone garden in Hallim Park

This statue is scattered all over Jeju island said to offer protection from evil spirtis

Dol hareubang

Views while in the Sueweolbong trekking

And my absolute fave of the west coast tour.. Locadio world!!! I love watching Korean series, and I love dressing up even more.. So this provided the best of both worlds as they allow you to dress up in different costumes from various Korean tv and movie sets..

the uniform from the Korean tv series Boys over Flowers

Korean royalty

My favorite dress!!

Next stop of the tour was to Mt. Sanbang, where the spirituality of the temple amidst the backdrop of the mountains just gave this whole aura of serenity and oneness with nature..

There’s a 20 minute trek up to the cave shrine.  People regularly make the trek up to drink the fresh water from the mountain, said to give you good health.

the cave shrine

And for the last stop of the tour..

Cheonjeyon waterfalls

It was now time to drop us off to our hotels.. I instead requested to be dropped of at a different location to fit in another tourist attraction I wanted to go to..

It’s not exactly specific to Jeju Island (since Seoul has its own version).. but Ihad a fun time taking pictures of all the cute teddy bears..

And that was the end to my enjoyable 1st day in Jeju Island.. Next day I explore the East Coast of the island.. And based on my experience today, I’m looking forward to what the next day has to offer..

4 thoughts on “Travel to Jeju Island (West Coast)

  1. hi i’d llike to ask, since you did not mention in your travel blog if Jusangjeolli is possible to add on the last part of the 2nd day tour. thanx

  2. I think this is one of the most significant info for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few
    general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

  3. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact ordered me dinner because I stumbled
    upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this topic here on your
    website.

Leave a Reply

