Shopping around Bandung

Besides food, Bandung is known both among locals and to Malaysians as a place for bargain shopping.  Because there’s a lot of clothing factories based here, the overruns are placed in factory outlets scattered throughout the city.

You can easily find out which are the popular ones just by asking the hotel or your taxi driver.  To get around, you can rent a taxi for a day, but that doesn’t include any parking fees that you need to pay (which almost all of the factory outlets have) of 2,000 rupiah (20 AUD cents).

The difficulty I had while researching for which factory outlets to go to, is that eventhough a lot of blogs in the internet would say which outlets are popular for shopping, they wouldn’t say or show what items you can find there.  The common brands I would find (which I believe are authentic) is Cotton On, Guess, some H&M, Forever 21, Espirit and if I’m lucky a few Zara and Mango.

Having said that, I wasn’t just looking for getting branded clothes at a lower price.  I wanted to find clothes that had some sort of style to them and was fashionable.

And in a lot of the factory outlets, you can’t expect to find something like that.  If you’re going to look for jeans, or simple tank tops or t shirts, then yes you’ll find a lot at bargain prices.  But otherwise, you’ll probably get disappointed by the choices available.

The only factory outlet I went crazy shopping at is Rumah Mode.  Compared to the other factory outlets, this had a cleaner, fancier atmosphere where even if I didn’t shop, the place in itself gave that local feel because of the architecture and statues around the area.

There’s only one building with one floor for clothing and accessories like bag and jewelry.  I was expecting much bigger so I was a bit disappointed by that.  So unless you’re going to be trying a lot of clothes, I think you’ll be finished looking at everything within 2 hours.

Still I found a lot of clothes I wanted, some of them with no brands.. but the quality and design was something I was willing to get for the price it was in.

some of my fave purchases

I basically spent 100 AUD on 11 articles of clothing.  A mixture of printed tank tops, shirts, that have some sort of print or style to it (such as the cutout in the shoulders in one of the black shirts shown above), those 2 dresses shown above, and a loose sweater.  And since I’m not skinny, I’m very particular with the fabric of the clothes in that they have to be thin and fall well on the body so as to not make me look fat.

I was super tempted with all the winter coats and jackets.  I found a Superdry (this is a japanese brand) thick vest that would be perfect for winter.. just around 30 AUD!  But I stopped myself from purchasing it since I didn’t really need anymore winter clothing.

If I were to go back, I wouldn’t bother going to any other factory outlet anymore and just go straight here to Rumah Mode.

me with all my shopping – the shirt here was another purchase from previous shopping trip to Rumah Mode 🙂

After all the shopping, there’s a massage place and restaurant within the area that you can go to take a break.

Another shopping area I enjoyed was Paris van Java mall.  This is for high end shopping but who knows, you might happen upon discounts and still find something for a better price.  A lot of the locals hang out here because apart from shopping, there’s a lot of restaurants in the area.  Nice place to have dinner.

One thought on “Shopping around Bandung

  1. Pingback: What to see in Bandung (part 2) | Little Miss OZ Chinita and Blueclouds

Leave a Reply

